Few crimes are as complex or have as many variations and degrees of severity as theft. In Texas, the law sets forth a range of penalties, depending on the specific facts of your charges. With decades of experience, Abrams Trial Law is poised to defend even the most serious accusations in state or federal court. Learn more about felony theft in Texas, and contact us today for assistance with your case.
How Does Texas Law Define Theft?
Theft is generally defined as unlawfully taking someone else’s property with the intent to deprive the owner of that property. See Texas Penal Code Sect. 31.03. But this is just the beginning. Next, Texas law breaks down the potential offenses by the nature and value of the item stolen.
There are three levels of theft that are misdemeanors. These charges, with the exception of a Class C Misdemeanor theft, may include jail time, fines, restitution (paying back the amount stolen), and/or community service. The levels of theft misdemeanors in Texas are based on value of the stolen items:
- Value <$100 – Class C misdemeanor, range of punishment up to a $500 fine.
- Value>$100<$750 – Class B misdemeanor, range of punishment up to 6 months in jail and fine up to $2,000.
- Value >$750 <$2,500-Class A misdemeanor, range of punishment up to one year in jail and a fine up to $4,000.
Felony Theft (any theft over $2,500)
Once the value of the item stolen equals or exceeds $2,500, things change significantly. There are specific items that can elevate the crime to a felony, even if the value is below $2,500. These include stealing a firearm or if the value of the property stolen is less than $2,500 and a person has been previously convicted two or more times of any grade of theft.
At this point, you could face 6 months to 2 years in a state jail. You could also have to pay up to $10,000 in fines as well as restitution to the victim. An experienced criminal lawyer can help to defend your rights and potentially your sentence.
- State Jail Felony Theft ($2,500 to <$30,000). At this level you could face from 180 days up to 2 years in the State Jail plus fines of up to$.10,000.
- Third Degree Felony Theft ($30,000 to <$150,000). At this level, you could face between 2 and 10 years in prison, plus fines of up to $10,000.
- Second Degree Felony Theft ($150,000 to <$300,000). At this level, you could face up to 20 years in prison and fines of up to $10,000.
- First Degree Felony Theft (>$300,000). If you steal something with $300,000 or more
- value, you could face up to 99 years in prison, plus tines of up to $10,000.
Don’t Take Chances – Call Abrams Trial Law
If you are facing a Felony Theft charge in Texas, the attorneys at Abrams Trial Law are ready to help you. Attorney Warren Abrams is a Board-Certified Criminal Law Specialist and Former Chief Prosecutor with the District Attorney’s Office, with over 30 years of experience. As a former Assistant District Attorney and felony prosecutor for the Dallas County District Attorney’s Office, Joshua Abrams also has tremendous courtroom experience fighting difficult cases.
Contact Abrams Trial Law today to set up a free initial consultation. If you are facing a charge of theft in Texas of any value, the experienced criminal lawyers at Abrams Trial Law are here to help.